January 6

Please Be Kind, use Commas!

We began 2021 with a mini-lesson on the importance of commas.  Did you know that commas can save lives?  My students came up with some funny sentences to show you why commas are necessary.  Enjoy reading them and try to come up with some of your own.

Can we cook dad?  vs  Can we cook, dad?

Should I Attack Zach?  vs  Should I Attack, Zach?

I love cooking Grandpa!  vs.  I love cooking, Grandpa!

I love eating football and my family.  vs.  I love eating, football and my family.

Let’s go to the park and eat mom.  vs.  Let’s go to the park and eat, mom. 

We are going to learn how to cut and paste kids.  vs.  We are going to learn how to cut and paste, kids.

We should go to eat mom.  vs.  We should go to eat, mom.

My dogs’ names are Bella Vega and Sky.  vs.  My dogs’ names are Bella, Vega, and Sky.

Today we are going to bake kids!  vs.  Today we are going to bake, kids!

Can we please go eat dad?  vs.  Can we please go eat, dad?

Let’s go stampede Brock.  vs.  Let’s go stampede, Brock.

 


Posted January 6, 2021 by rdarden in category 100 Word Challenge, Authors Spotlight, Book Reviews, Featured Writers, Mrs.Darden Thinking, Project Based Learning and Agile, Student Column, Uncategorized

About the Author

An educator since 2001 and plan to retire as a teacher. Follow on Twitter @teacherdarden.