January 10

Poetic Passion Project

Prior to our holiday break, I decided to ditch the traditional paper and pencil exam for a fun project. Students were given many choices in how they could demonstrate and apply reading and writing skills.  For a little over a month, students dove deep into critical and creative thinking in an independent passion project.  Below are two original poems written by Kate, and inspired by The Miscalculations of Lightning Girl and When Stars are Scattered.

Moving on for the Better

By Kate

Ever since lighting struck me

it also struck my life.

It changed.

From there I became a savant, a genius, in math

But little did I know I was drowning in loneliness

Numbers, online friends, and my alone time became my friends

Although, my grandma tells me that I’m lonely

I thought that deep down inside I had everything that I needed

It turns out that all I needed were friend

but I didn’t have what I needed.

I finally found my place.

 

Change is Good

By Kate

As I looked around the tents

Spread all around, my life

Stuttered as if I didn’t know its worth.

As I stared at the stars, I couldn’t help

But wonder what was really out there

Waiting for me.

Was the rumor true about my
Mother’s passing? Could I go to college in America and leave my friends behind?

But no, change is not good.

It is bad. I should stay here.

With Fatuma and my best friend.

My mother is alive and I know it.

Or should I change my perspective?

I know change will hurt, but I’ve realized here at the camp that change is good.

Do it for Fatuma, do it for my family,

do it for your friends.

do it for my brother,

but most of all do it for yourself.

Change is good.

 

 


Posted January 10, 2022 by rdarden in category Authors Spotlight

About the Author

An educator since 2001 and plan to retire as a teacher. Follow on Twitter @teacherdarden.