October 8

Descriptive Companion Essays

After reading the novel and viewing the movie, The Call of the Wild, students followed that with a short story titled “Dirk the Protector”. The similar themes students found were companionship, survival, and friendship.  These stories helped us make connections to personal people and pets in our lives that we consider true companions.  These stories inspired us to write descriptive companion essays. Below you can read two of the essays that are being showcased on our classroom blog.

Cosmo

by Nicole

A furry beast walks, he is white with grey tips and has gorgeous green eyes.  He watches over the house thinking he is the boss of everyone, and he sort of is.

This furry beast I speak of is my adorable little cat, Cosmo.  He is fluffier than you could ever imagine.  He snuggles up with me at night and he truly is my little protector.  When there is a bug in the house, Cosmo will not hesitate to kill it.  Cosmo is the sweetest cat but he has a big ego and thinks he is as big as an elephant.

I have had Cosmo for almost three years and he has been so good to me.  He is a great cuddle buddy and is there for me when I need a shoulder to lean on.  He loves attention but gets scared around people he has never met before, and sometimes hides.  He is my best friend, the one I can always count on and I am forever grateful for him.

 

 

My Dog Penny

By Mac

Penny is a puppy with a huge heart.  She is one year old and will turn two in January.  Our family got her on a camping trip in North Carolina on St. Patrick’s Day.  She is an Irish Doodle which is a mix between an Irish Setter and a Poodle.  She is big weighing almost 90 pounds and can rest her head on the table.  Penny is always there for me and she makes me smile when I am feeling sad.  I like that when I go to the pool she comes with me and we swim together all day.  We love being together and she always shows me how a dog is a man’s best friend.

I can not imagine life without Penny.  Her fur is soft and warm like a blanket.  She seems like she always has a smile and is always happy to stand up and give a hug.  And when she does, she is as tall as I am.  Without Penny, I think I would be less joyful and a little less responsible.  Penny makes me happy and I am responsible for taking care of her.  For example, I make sure that she has food and water every day, I take her on nice walks and play with her outside all the time.  I think Penny would choose me out of anyone in my family because she is always wagging her tail around me.  Her tail is so big and strong that it has broken things.  Penny will never win the award for the most graceful or calm dog, but I think she would win the award for best spirit and happiest.

 

 


Posted October 8, 2021 by rdarden in category Authors Spotlight

About the Author

An educator since 2001 and plan to retire as a teacher. Follow on Twitter @teacherdarden.